The Proposal!

I thought I would give you guys a little insight into how Chris proposed to me almost a year ago! Honestly I don’t remember much I just remember him getting down on one knee with a blue Tacori box in his hand! 

It was May 12, 2012 and I had just finished working my first overnight shift for a job that I absolutely hated (luckily I no longer work there). I was working about an hour away from home so after taking a long bus ride home at 8AM, I got home and could not sleep…because my body was not adjusted to going to sleep at 8AM! So Chris had asked me if I wanted to go to his favorite park which is somewhat near our apartment. I said sure why not, I can’t sleep anyways and it was a beautiful sunny day! I hadn’t showered and my hair was a mess but honestly I didn’t think anything of a trip to the park so I figured I had no one to impress anyways!

Here is a picture of the park, it has a huge dam that you can walk along. Image

Anyways, we walk along the dam and there is this beautiful hawk flying above us and it was just a really nice day. Chris started talking about how much he loved me and how much I had been there for him recently because while we were at the gym his locker was broken into and some very important items for his work were taken, along with a gold cross necklace, his wallet, and his cell phone. It was a very hard time for us but we got through it so I didn’t think anything of his ramblings until he got down on one knee and proposed to me with the most beautiful ring I could have imagined! Shockingly I didn’t cry…I actually asked him if he was serious and then he joked with me about how he has bad knees and he wouldn’t be down on one knee if he didn’t have to be! 

We walked all the way to the end of the dam and sat down on a picnic table where he filled me in with all the details about how he told me he had to go and travel for work but in all actuality he had just gone to ask my Dad if he could marry me… of course I was clueless! Chris had also told me that he went to the bank to take out money for my ring the day that his locker was broken into but he decided to leave it with his parents instead of taking it in his backpack to the gym…that still gives me goosebumps every time I think about it. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason and this just makes me believe it even more. I can’t even imagine what would have happened if he had not left that money with his parents… ugh! Anyways after the proposal we each called our parents and my mom was in the car driving and she had to pull over because she began crying! Oops! We raced home after we were done at the park because I needed to shower so I could go and get my ring sized! We went to the jeweler and left the ring for less than an hour while they sized it! I didn’t want to take it off even for that hour but I also didn’t want it to fall off! 

 

So there you have it! A simple proposal but I will always remember that park and the thoughtful and caring words Chris used to make me feel so special! 🙂 I’m going to bring him to “our” park this year on the anniversary of our proposal for a picnic, he just doesn’t know it yet!

Leave a Reply

